A strange train(of thoughts)

It’s a beautiful day outside my window today. Light dark clouds have gathered over the sky above us and a steady but heavy drizzle of rain is pouring down, making me think about very strange things. I find myself wondering about a what if- What if every element in our nature was a person? It is an unusual question to think about but my imagination always gets me into troublesome places so once again I wander into an unknown territory.

I meet Rain, a handsome young man with the smile of an angel and his eternally wet locks of hair stamped on his forehead with water dripping from his thick grey coat makes him look very haphazard. He gives me a hug and picks me up to spin me around, drenching me in the process and I find myself laughing at his antics. Every hint of tension seeps out from my body, the water loosening the knots and muscles inside my body. I can see his anger simmering inside, the frown marring his beautiful face as he creates a flood out of his bare hands and unleashes it on whatever has incurred his displeasure. However, giving me a happy smile, he sweeps off to place his feather light touches to the green leaves that immediately seem to awaken under his ministration.

I meet Thunder, a huge and gruff beast who seems to grunt his complaints awfully loudly. His eyebrow is crooked eternally and he sits on the sky, muttering slowly under his breath. He is dressed in regal clothes and if he could smile, his countenance would be so pleasant but no sir, he will always be unsatisfied. At first his loud roar frightens me and I cower back but then I gather my courage and move towards him. A smile is there on my face as I sit down next to him, cross legged and listen to his incoherent gibberish for a little while. Suddenly he looks at me with his cloudy grey eyes and shouts out something very loudly so I squeeze his hand and walk away.

I meet the Sun, a glowing young guy who I suspect must have toned down his brightness or I would have been reduced to ashes just by staring straight at him. He has a smile pasted on his face forever but I could make out his shy personality as he withdrew his hand quickly from mine when we shook hands. Behind his ember eyes, sadness was visible once you got through the fake illusion of happiness. He was happy but something was troubling him deep down and when I asked him about it, he gave me a single sentence answer. “I am in love.” And then I noticed- he was looking at someone almost the entire time I was in front of him.

Walking towards the direction he was looking I came upon the Moon. She was the most beautiful woman I had ever encountered in my whole life. A pearly sheen of white light covered her white gown as a cloak and she was sitting on her knees. She looked so heartbroken that I had to sit in front of her and clasp her cold pale hands. She looks up at me, transparent tears rolling down from her scary white orbs and starts to sob harder. I couldn’t think of anything except- I hugged her, stroking her bright white hair and humming a tune under my breath so that only she could hear. Rocking her, I carried on holding her until her cries quietened down. She lifts her head and with her hands in mine, like before, she meets my eyes. “Every night he dies for me, he dies to let me breathe and I can never be united with him. I love him so much but our paths will never cross and I have to spend my lifetime, alone, with him chasing after me, both of us knowing we will never be together.” I can’t help but shed a tear at the tragedy as I mutter a heartfelt, “I am sorry.” And then she smiled at me through her watery eyes, her beauty magnifying ten times. She wrapped me to her, under her cloak of rays, and I felt warmth- not burning hot but lukewarm, the kind you feel when you are sitting cuddled up in a blanket with a coffee cup in your hands in front of the fireplace when the snow falls outside in Christmas. The last thing she says to me before letting me go is, “I will always be there to listen for such a dear friend like you. Send me your thoughts and I will comfort you with my mellow rays.”

I meet Lightning, a small but sprightly young girl with purple pixie cut hair and a restless spirit that could only rival my own. I smile at her and she waves to me, jumping from one place to another. She has the cutest ballerina shoes which changes colour from purple to white on and she wears a crooked hat that looks like the Sorting Hat from Harry Potter without the slit which suits her perfectly with the long elfin ears she has. As I stop in front of her, she motions for me to come closer and as I do, she gives me a kiss on my cheek that sends small electric tingles down to my toes. A quirky smile later, she is gone, jumping at random intervals.

 I meet Wind who does not have a proper form but when he stands in front of me behind a tornado of air, I could make out a mischievous face with a smirk on his face and glassy eyes that seemed to shine with wickedness. Slowly I could see a suit clad body but that was all I could see before he started to play with my hair and tickling me in all the right places. I start laughing like I have never before and he starts to spin me around, pulling my arm around his shoulders. Everything starts becoming blurry and I feel more alive than I have ever felt with my heart beating fast like I am in a roller coaster. As we slow down and my laughs reduce to a smile, I feel a small gust of air touching my cheeks as he leaves his fingerprints all over my heart.

I meet Forest next on my way. She stands in a beautiful gown of the deepest green found on Earth, her eyes emerald and her hair the colour of muddy brown like the Earth, resting on her shoulder in wild curls like her untamed heart. Behind her I could see a small glimpse of the various trees and plants under her domain. Then I notice a small shard of glass in her hand. She cuts her wrist and brownish red blood falls on the ground. Crystal green tears from her eyes mix with the blood and it mixes into the ground. She looks up at me before putting the shard to her hand again and says in a husky voice, “Please stop.” I couldn’t understand at first but then I did. I wish I could convey to her that it was not me failing her but the whole of mankind. If you could have seen the unfathomable pain in her green irises, you would have dropped your axe and got down to your knees, so powerful is her unspoken agony.

As I am jerked out of my imagination, I think it is time I stopped recording my thoughts. I have no reason at all to dream about weird things like these but I can thoroughly say, after my experience, I would not be friendless if the elements of Nature were people. I would have the truest friends on this Earth and I know now, that I just have to go outside to be with them. Now I know that I am never alone, my very best and truest friends are with me whenever I need them. All I have to do is believe.

Leave a comment